Pearl Jam – Running

Kicking into high gear, Pearl Jam unveil a hard-charging brand new record entitled “Running” available today via Monkeywrench Records/Republic Records. Listen HERE. It heralds the arrival of the band’s anxiously awaited twelfth studio album, Dark Matter, on April 19, 2024. Pre-order HERE.

The band will also continue their support of independent retailers by offering various, limited edition galactic color variants of Dark Matter exclusively at select indie retail stores with 8 different colorways in the US and 2 additional for international. More info HERE.

To celebrate the release of the new album, Pearl Jam will present an exclusive cinematic engagement, Pearl Jam – Dark Matter – Global Theatrical Experience – One Night Only, on April 16, 2024. Distributed by Abramorama, Dark Matter will come to life in over 225 locations nationwide, including AMC, Regal, Cinemark, Landmark, Marcus, Studio Movie Grill, Cinepolis, Harkins, Alamo Drafthouse, Chinese Cineplex, IFC, and more. Additionally, AMC and other cinemas will feature Dolby Atmos showings. Worldwide, it graces theaters in over 30 countries, appearing in more than 300 locations across Mexico, the UK, Spain, Netherlands, Australia, Brazil, Argentina, New Zealand, and Poland, to name a few. Tickets go on sale today HERE.

Additionally, CBS Sports March Madness coverage will feature 3 songs from the new album including “Running”.

Pearl Jam set the stage for Dark Matter with the title track and lead single “Dark Matter.” It toppled numerous charts. Notably, it surged to #1 on Billboard’s Mainstream Rock Airplay Chart, netting the band’s first leader on the respective chart since 1998. It also captured #1 on the Billboard Rock & Alternative Airplay Chart. Moreover, it earned widespread critical acclaim. Rolling Stone christened it “electrifying,” going on to describe the song as a “rousing, guitar-heavy track.” applauded, “Pearl Jam’s cosmically charged rock journey continues with new album ‘Dark Matter’,” and Consequence of Sound dubbed it “Song of the Week” and attested, “33 years into the game and Pearl Jam still know how to let it rip.”

Produced by multi-GRAMMY® award winning producer Andrew Watt, Dark Matter, marks the band’s first release since critically acclaimed Gigaton (2020). In 2023, the members of Pearl Jam-Eddie Vedder [vocals], Jeff Ament [bass], Stone Gossard [rhythm guitar], Mike McCready [lead guitar], and Matt Cameron [drums]-retreated to Shangri-La Studios in Malibu where they simply plugged in and played with producer Andrew Watt at the helm.

The band is celebrating indie record stores with the release of a special edition of Dark Matter on April 20. Only at participating stores as part of Record Store Day. Get more information and find stores at

Dark Matter album packaging features light painting art by Alexandr Gnezdilov. Light painting is an artistic form of photography where images are created by adjusting a camera’s exposure for an extended period and using a light source, such as a flashlight, to “paint” in the dark. The album cover art was crafted using a large self-made kaleidoscope. Each letter visible on the cover was individually captured and handwritten midair with a specially designed flashlight to create the pearlescent effect. See more info on Alexandr Gnezdilov below.

Dark Matter Tracklist

  1. Scared of Fear
  2. React, Respond
  3. Wreckage
  4. Dark Matter
  5. Won’t Tell
  6. Upper Hand
  7. Waiting for Stevie 8. Running
  8. Something Special 10. Got to Give
  9. Setting Sun

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *